199. Mayapur Trip – Katwa Trip (Part 2)

3 months later, I am back at my writing desk. Career can take a toll on everything ! Anyway, let’s continue…


We reached one of the most important destination in our trip to Katwa. This is where i need your help. I cannot recollect the name of this holy site and the pastimes associated with it. I am attaching a few photos below and maybe one of the readers can educate us.

.

.

We had a long queue from the bus to the deity room area. Honestly, I do like waiting lines at pilgrimage areas. Once i waited for 6 hours to have darshan at Tirupati temple and perhaps 4 hours at Guruvayoor temple in Kerala. It shows some level of austerity. And also a great chance to watch the devotion and boredom in other people’s eyes.

.

.

Those 2 sketches were just outside the temple room and I thought they were beautiful. Looks like the Lord is instructing in one picture and listening to us in the other.

.

.

What a packed altar ! Many of us didn’t feel like moving from the place where we stood gazing at these deities. As we looked at them, pastimes and purports flooded our minds. There were photographers of many other sanyasis and guru maharajas as well.

.

.

Right outside the temple area was this hall with openings on all walls. The walls were white with shades of dirt. The sunlight seemed to join the gathered devotees  and the floor was simple. To be filled in this room on a holy site with all devotees of the Lord and listening to the pastimes was so special. I couldn’t help thinking, “Why am I so lucky?”

.

.

What do you  think about that picture? As I waited in line to see what was in the adjoining room, I had no idea about what I was going to see. When it was my turn to enter this little room, I was shocked to see Lord Chaitanya sitting there in such a strong pose. His garments were well worn, the fingers were well placed and the sandals in front. I immediately paid my respects and said, “wow !”.

.

.

I must look at this footwear everyday. Can anyone tell me if they were the actual ones that Mahaprabhu wore or are they symbolic ones?

.

.

And finally, prasadam was served to all who had boarded the bus. It was hot khichadi and to sit underneath such locations, far far away from everything material that one was connected to, was a great joy and satisfaction in itself. Are’nt we all so lucky to be a part of these kind of experiences?

……….to be continued (again…)

Leave a Reply

