192. Mayapur 2010 – Part 1

It just felt terriffic to be back at Mayapur ! And that is why there hasn’t been any posts for a long time. When in Mayapur or Vrindhavan, I have found the internet to be very slow. So, I decided to wait till I get back. Once I got back, I was jet lagged for a good 4 days and now I am doing good.

I had a chance to visit Navadwip and visit places of Mahaprabhu’s pastimes, celebrated Gaura Purnima with 800 odd Russian devotees, prayed on the banks of the Ganga, enjoyed my daily lunch at Madhu bakery and immersed in the wonderful lectures of His Holiness Bhakti Caru Swami, Bhakti Vaibhav Swami, Bhakti Vikasa Swami, Jayapataka Swami (via TV) and other guru maharajas. And you can’t forget the long stares at Lord Narasimha, Pancha-Tattva and Sri Radha Madhava deities. Here is the first picture I took while there :

" Let there be Victory ! "

Also, in this visit running up to 9 days, 8 nights, I decided that I would study the Sri Siksastaka prayers (the 8 holy verses of Lord Chaitanya) for the 8 nights I intended to be here. It wasn’t easy as I thought but the attempt was made. So, here is the first verse :

Let there be all victory for the chanting of the holy name of Lord Krishna, which can cleanse the mirror of the heart and stop the miseries of the blazing fire of material existence. That chanting is the waxing moon that spreads the white lotus of good fortune for all living entities. It is the life and soul of all education. The chanting of the holy name of Krishna expands the blissful ocean of transcendental life. It gives a cooling effect to everyone and enables one to taste full nectar at every step.

5 thoughts on “192. Mayapur 2010 – Part 1

  1. Please dont change the english translation of the sikshastaka prayers ,Prabhupada has already given us.You cannot change the words of the original.You wont want to meet me.Just by changing the words means you are already failing.Leave it alone.AS IT IS.

    Reply
    • Hari Bol,
      I am very sorry that I have upset you with the english translation of the Sikshastaka prayers. I wasn’t aware that there was an error. That translation was copied word for word from the Sri Sikshastaka prayer book I bought at one of the ISKCON temples and I also saw these wordings in the Chaitanya Caritamrta book. I would appreciate it if you could write down the exact wordings as a comment please. Thanks !

      Reply
  2. Hare Krsna Manoj Prabhu
    PAMHO. AGTSP.

    You may already have got the translation given by Srila Prabhupada for the verse. However, if not, below is from the “Vaishnava Song Book”

    Glory to the Sri Krsna Sankirtana, which cleanses the heart of all the dust accumulated for years and extinguishes the fire of conditional life, of repeated birth and death. This sankirtana movement is the prime benediction for humanity at large because it spreads the rays of the
    benediction moon. It is the life of all transcendental knowledge. It increases the ocean of transcendental bliss, and it enables us to fully taste the nectar for which we are always anxious.

    I have a soft copy of the vaishnava song book and would send that to you if you write to me at sanjay5goel@yahoo.com.

    Ys
    Sanjay

    Reply

Leave a Reply

