39. Rameshwaram nostalgia

Just called my parents to wish them a happy weekend ahead and they tell me they are in Rameshwaram !! I didn’t even know. Anyways, I am happy that they decided to spend the weekend visiting various Sri Krishna temples in the south. Rameshwaram in South India is a favourite place of mind since childhood days. I used to adore the hot, soft, delicious idlies (something like a rice cake) they made here. Ahem…I also enjoyed praying here. I remember as a kid walking through the long corridors with massive pillars on either side, lit by sunlight, thousands of pilgrims and screams of the names of Sri Rama everywhere. During my young adult days (few years ago), I discovered that the sea near the temple was a great place for snorkeling. This I got to know from 2 fishermen brothers who took me into the sea on a hand-made raft which almost sunk, so far that I could see Sri Lanka in the distance, said “Hey Rama”, took my hands and dived into the waters. You won’t believe this but there were huge mushroom shaped coral reefs there! Trust me. I couldn’t believe it either. I had scuba dived the great barrier reef before but I had never seen corals of this size. They were big, tall and just about touched the water surface so much so that one of the fisherman stood on it. He looked as if he was standing on water. After 3 hrs in the water, they took me to the hut where the lady of hut cooked some delicious, spicy, oily food. Then a hammock was laid out for me to nap. In the evening, I also visited the temple complex again and prayed hard.

See below the two pictures I discovered on the net belonging to this area. Its from the early 1900s.

This is the corridor I was talking about……

Some young Vaishnavas? The head marking seems to say otherwise. But in the south, they smear it sideways too.

All these photos came from the website of Columbia University if you need to see more classic pictures of the region.

4 thoughts on “39. Rameshwaram nostalgia

  1. Rameswaram is a beautiful place. Neaby to it there are the “Nava Thirupathi” stalams. These are 9 temples which are amongst the 108 Vaishnava Divyadesams.

    Reply
  2. Hare Krishna Prabhuji,
    – It indeed is. And the water is so beautiful. I hope the locals do their best to protect Ram Sethu bridge.
    – Have you seen an old man serving strong “Narasus” coffee on a raised platform right next to the entrance? He has been there for ages.
    – In my adult days, I dont recollect having gone to these 9 temples of the 108. Do you have a list of the 108 temples?
    Hari Bol,
    Manoj

    Reply
  3. The Ram Sethu issue defenitely worries me. I don’t know how they could even think of damaging it? Either if its been built by Sri Ram or not, how could they hurt the sentiments of crores of Hindus?

    For a list of the 108 Divya desams visit this link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Divya_Desams

    In the above page under Tirunelveli you will find 10 Divya desams. Amongst the 10 except Thirukkurungudi the rest of them form Navathirupathis. Thirukkurungudi is a wonderful place and the temple is a architectural masterpiece. All these temples are MUST VISIT.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

