22. Ever changing

Over the last 2 years, I have passed by this cafe which has a sign displayed on the window :

“Happiness is the art of never holding back in your heart any unpleasant thing that has passed in your life”

But this is so hard. When unpleasant things happen to me, I never seem to recollect this statement. Sri Krishna also says something similar in Bhagavad Gita, when he tells Arjuna that happiness and distress are like the seasons…they constantly come and go and that one should never be bewildered by this change. I had this state of mind when I was much younger but as I get older, I keep thinking over and over again of the unfortunate and unpleasant things that might have happened to me in the day or over the years. And usually, it pops up during chanting.

Leave a Reply

