3. The Gods in the Comic Book

A close second to my fascinations in visiting temples to see Krishna as a child was reading and hearing about Him. Hearing was aided by the various stories that my grand mother, mum and uncle would talk about in the evenings after lighting the lamp at the altar. But the biggest impact in my life came through a reading of a publication in the 1980s called Amar Chitra Katha.

Amar Chitra Katha

I was addicted. Basically for the next 10 years of my life, I grew up on these comic books on Sri Krishna and other demi-god heros. In the little remote village I grew up in, Sri Krishna was my best friend and super hero. Followed by Bruce Lee and Lord Hanuman of course. I even had my own peakcock feather and a flute like He had. Believe it or not, I used these comic books to learn my English. Thats a different story altogether. I was such a fan that I had every single book that came out of this company, knew every story and even contributed my own articles which got printed. These books with its beautifully drawn characters and colors basically helped me visualize the life of Gods on earth. As a child when my parents, relatives or teachers would ask me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I would say proudly “A Sanyasi”. And it was because of these books.

As I was writing this article, I came to know that they now have in their series – CHAITANYA MAHAPRABHU
You can view it at http://www.ack-media.com/india/products/Chaitanya_Mahaprabhu-453-0.html

Leave a comment